Martin Villeneuve

Screenwriter, Director, Producer

Martin Villeneuve’s feature debut, the groundbreaking, sci-fi fantasy Mars & Avril, starring Robert Lepage and Caroline Dhavernas, cost only a stunning $2.3 million to produce and led him onto the TED stage to share the special secrets of his remarkable achievement. His TED Talk has been subtitled in 31 languages and viewed more than a million times. Mars & Avril has been described by io9 as “one of the most beautiful, and immersive, sci-fi worlds ever put on film.”

Cirque du Soleil alumnus and TED2013 speaker Martin Villeneuve is a Montreal-based screenwriter, director and producer. He studied film at Concordia University and graphic design at Université du Québec à Montréal. In 2002, he received an award from the advertising agency Sid Lee for the quality of his portfolio. In the years that followed, he worked as an artistic director with this agency and especially for Cirque du Soleil. In this capacity, he helped create award-winning advertising campaigns for shows like Zumanity, and Corteo. He also directed numerous TV commercials for Cirque du Soleil, in addition to music videos and short films. As an author, he has written and created the comic book La voix du tonnerre, as well as the two graphic novels Mars & Avril, which were all released to critical acclaim and multiple awards.

In 2012, he completed his first feature film as writer-director-producer, Mars & Avril, based on his graphic novels — world premiere in Karlovy Vary, 20 international festivals, positive reviews abroad, 3 awards, and 9 Canadian nominations including one for Best Adaptation at the Canadian Screen Awards. In addition, the sheer inventiveness of the film’s production won Martin an invitation to give a TED Talk in Long Beach, California. He is the first — and so far the only — TED speaker from Quebec in 35 years, and the third filmmaker so honored, following in the footsteps of famed directors James Cameron and J.J. Abrams.

In 2014, Martin Villeneuve won 3 awards for his short film Imelda, including the Union des Artistes’ Best Actor Award at the 12th Prends ça court ! Gala. In 2016, he directed the first episodes of the award-winning second season of Real Detective for Investigation Discovery Channel and Netflix.

Among other projects, directly linked to the success of Mars et Avril, he is currently writing for GO Films the adventure-comedy Red Ketchup, based on Quebec’s cult graphic novel series. He will once again team up with Belgian comic book artist François Schuiten when he will direct the animated feature Aquarica for Item 7. He will also direct From Beyond, a horror/sci-fi project based on the H.P. Lovecraft short story, for Darius Films & Shoreline Entertainment. With Martin Villeneuve, Quebec talent radiates internationally.

Martin Villeneuve

Scénariste, Réalisateur, Producteur

Le premier long métrage de Martin Villeneuve, Mars et Avril, une science-fiction révolutionnaire mettant en vedette Robert Lepage et Caroline Dhavernas, a été tourné avec un budget de seulement 2,3 millions de dollars et l’a conduit sur la scène de TED pour partager les secrets de son exploit remarquable. Sa conférence TED a été sous-titrée en 31 langues et visionnée plus d’un million de fois. Le site io9 a décrit Mars et Avril comme « l’un des univers de science-fiction les plus beaux et immersifs jamais portés à l’écran. »

Premier conférencier québécois à TED, Martin Villeneuve est un scénariste, réalisateur et producteur établi à Montréal. Il a étudié en cinéma à l’Université Concordia et en design graphique à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. En 2002, il a remporté la bourse de l’agence Sid Lee pour la qualité de son portfolio. Il a ensuite travaillé comme directeur artistique au sein de l’agence, en particulier pour le Cirque du Soleil. À ce titre, il a participé à la conception des campagnes publicitaires des spectacles Zumanity, et Corteo. Il a également réalisé plusieurs publicités télévisées pour le Cirque du Soleil, en plus de vidéoclips et de courts métrages. Comme auteur, il a signé la bande dessinée La voix du tonnerre, ainsi que les deux tomes du photo-roman revisité Mars et Avril qui ont reçu un accueil enthousiaste et récolté des prix.

En 2012, il a complété son premier long métrage en tant que scénariste, réalisateur et producteur, Mars et Avril, adapté de ses romans graphiques — première mondiale à Karlovy Vary, 20 festivals internationaux, 3 prix et 9 nominations canadiennes dont celle de la meilleure adaptation aux Prix Écrans Canadiens. En outre, la grande inventivité derrière la production du film a permis à Martin de donner une conférence TED à Long Beach, en Californie. Il est le premier — et jusqu’à maintenant le seul — Québécois en 35 ans à avoir donné une conférence TED, et le troisième cinéaste ainsi honoré, succédant aux célèbres réalisateurs James Cameron et J.J. Abrams.

En 2014, Martin Villeneuve a réalisé le court métrage Imelda pour lequel il a remporté 3 prix, dont celui du meilleur acteur au 12e Gala Prends ça court ! En août 2016, il a réalisé les premiers épisodes de la 2e saison de la série américaine Real Detective, qui fut diffusée en 2017 sur Investigation Discovery Channel et sur Netflix.

Entre autres projets issus du succès de Mars et Avril, il travaille présentement à un film inspiré de la série de bandes dessinées Red Ketchup pour GO Films. Et il retrouvera le bédéiste belge François Schuiten lorsqu’il réalisera le dessin animé Aquarica pour Item 7. Il réalisera aussi From Beyond, un projet d’horreur / science-fiction d’après une nouvelle de H.P. Lovecraft, pour Darius Films & Shoreline Entertainment. Avec Martin Villeneuve, le talent québécois rayonne internationalement.